Well it's Super Sunday and I'm here, posting the toast. I felt like conducting a little interview with HigherVoltage user, Racewing about the pit of absolute depravity he posts on. I'm hoping that this conversation doesn't stray into a Megaman Legends lemon. Beware the Blocks of Text that Racey posts BTW.
Tokaro says:
hey
Racewing says:
Hey, you finally made it.
Tokaro says:
omfg actually online
Tokaro says:
what's up?
Racewing says:
Not much, realy.Just woke up.
I'll tell you the same thing I tell everyone who IMs me, though. I don't do small talk or just "what's up" shooting the breeze online. I just can't.
Tokaro says:
not your thing? well kk, I wanted to talk to you about Higher Voltage
Tokaro says:
seeing that you're a user there
Tokaro says:
if you don't mind talking about the community there
Tokaro says:
I wanted to do a little interview for a blog
Racewing says:
Hmm.
I'm listening.
Tokaro says:
Ok, well I was wondering, what kind of users frequent HV? What games do they play, are they involved in the FG scene? etc.
Racewing says:
HV? You mean HigherVoltage?
Tokaro says:
yeah
Tokaro says:
what's it like?
Racewing says:
Well, the thing is, I can't really *speak* for HV as a whole. I just go there to, ironically, relax. All kinds of folks are there, and they like all kinds of things. There's no one category you can place them into, and I have little idea if any of them are involved in the fighting game "scene", as you put it. I know most people were driven together by an underlying love of fighters, but as far as being tourneyfolk, got me there. I never bothered to find out.
Racewing says:
(got a link to this this blog of yours, btw?)
Tokaro says:
yeah, one sec
Tokaro says:
http://tokaro-ism.blogspot.com/
Tokaro says:
but, you're saying it's kinda laid back in comparison to say SRK
Tokaro says:
I can understand how you can't really rep an entire forum or anything but I've checked it out a bit
Tokaro says:
and it seems like a pretty laid back enviroment
Racewing says:
Laid back, indeed. In comparison so SRK, little idea. I haven't been by SRK in a very long time.
Racewing says:
Years, even.
Tokaro says:
yeah, SRK seems to heavy into the raw competition and the drama y'know
Tokaro says:
I rarely post on SRK
Tokaro says:
so, what about you, are you a deep player or do you just do the Fighting Game thing casually?
Racewing says:
I'm... somewhere in the middle. I used to frequent Chinatown Fair around the turn of the century, but then I moved out of its area. Since then, I still mess around with analyzing fighting game engines, character combos, and try to get better *just in case* someone might come along, but fact of the matter is, I currently put 1/100th of the time a tournament-grade player would put into practice, and thus, I can be whooped by such people quite handily. I don't practice for hours on end like I used to. Don't have the time, nor the amount of competition around anymore to make it worthwhile. But I still like to stay on top of what's out there, for what it's worth.
Tokaro says:
right right
Tokaro says:
well it's what you put into it
Racewing says:
Yeah, pretty much.
Tokaro says:
the ridiculous amount of practice and the situation a player must be in e.g. a heavy FG based area like Chinatown Fair or FFA
Tokaro says:
it can have tremendous pressure
Racewing says:
Haha--well, it *was* at first, watching those guys can be intimidating, but after a little while, you just sort of slip into a groove, and you and everyone else there just has fun being all hardcore about the games and stuff.
Tokaro says:
yeah haha
Tokaro says:
I'm glad I've talked to a few players
Tokaro says:
or I would still have the intimidation factor setting in XD
Racewing says:
Yeah, talking to some folks helps out too. At least back then, just being real friendly while whooping their asses (or getting my ass whooped) went a long way. I'm not a big fan of trash-talking or imtimidation techniques anyway. We're all here to get better, right?
Tokaro says:
yeah agreed
Tokaro says:
this isn't Marvel or anything haha
Racewing says:
Heh.
Tokaro says:
so, what games do you play btw?
Racewing says:
You mean, fighters, or just games in general? Cause if we're talking about the latter, we'll be here a while.
Tokaro says:
fighters haha
Tokaro says:
I wont get into everything
Racewing says:
Heh, okay.
Tokaro says:
actually I'm gonna have to get going briefly
Tokaro says:
but it was a pleasure talking to you about this crap
Racewing says:
We wrapping up now, or...?
Tokaro says:
yeah I'm gonna have to
Racewing says:
Heh, yeah, sure, no worries.
Tokaro says:
sorry
Tokaro says:
nice display pic btw
Racewing says:
s'ok
Tokaro says:
I'd hit it
Tokaro says:
lol
Racewing says:
..it must still be the Alex icon, then. I keep forgetting she's up there.
Tokaro says:
yup
Tokaro says:
later
Tokaro says:
thanks again
Racewing says:
Seeya.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment